Bumble terms change
Privacy Policy change — October 13, 2026
The privacy policy now includes a new clause about handles, stating that 'If you create a handle, other members who have your handle can use it to find and open your profile, regardless of whether those members are within your filters.' Additionally, it mentions that 'any photo-verified member who has your handle can look up and open your profile.'
What this means for you. Users can now be found by others through a handle they create, which may affect their privacy settings.
What actually changed
-
Changed. Users can be searched and accessed by their handle, potentially exposing them to more users than they intended.
If you create a handle, other members who have your handle can use it to find and open your profile, regardless of whether those members are within your filters.
-
Changed. Photo-verified members can find and view profiles using handles, increasing the visibility of user profiles.
If you create a handle, any photo-verified member who has your handle can look up and open your profile.
The wording
Exact excerpts from the last snapshot compared with the new one.
Was Others using the App might be able to see some of your Registration Information when they view your profile page, such as your sexual preference, name, and username.1. Registration InformationWhen you download the App and create a Bumble account, you may provide certain information about yourself to provide our service and help enhance the App, and over time, this can include:NameUsernameGender identityLocation (city…
Now Others using the App might be able to see some of your Registration Information when they view your profile page, such as your sexual preference, name, and username. If you create a handle, other members who have your handle can use it to find and open your profile, regardless of whether those members are within your filters.1. Registration InformationWhen you download the App and create a Bumble account, you may pro…
Was We get location information from the device you use to access the Bumble social networking service.Contractual necessity to connect you.Badoo only Show ‘nearby’ locations to other membersGeocoordinates from the device of the member only shown as ‘nearby’ to other membersWe get location information from the device you use to access BadooContractual necessity to connect you The information is retained for 6 years after…
Now We get location information from the device you use to access the Bumble social networking service.Contractual necessity to connect you.Badoo only Show ‘nearby’ locations to other membersGeocoordinates from the device of the member only shown as ‘nearby’ to other membersWe get location information from the device you use to access BadooContractual necessity to connect you The information is retained for 6 years after…
Was In this case, we have no control over how this information might then be used or shared after we are required to provide it.Remember to log out of any app or third-party account you use to log in to or access our App when you are done to keep others from accessing your Bumble account.TAKE CONTROL OF YOUR DATAWhen you choose to share sensitive information about yourself with us, including by adding badges to your prof…
Now In this case, we have no control over how this information might then be used or shared after we are required to provide it.Remember to log out of any app or third-party account you use to log in to or access our App when you are done to keep others from accessing your Bumble account.If you create a handle, any photo-verified member who has your handle can look up and open your profile.TAKE CONTROL OF YOUR DATAWhen y…
Read the current source document
Automatically generated from a text diff. Not legal advice. Spot something wrong?